UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT
WESTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

STANDING ORDER REGARDING ‘NO-LOOK?” FEES IN

CHAPTER 13 CASES

(Effective for cases filed on or after February 1, 2017)

The Amended Standing Order Regarding “No Look” Fees in Chapter 13 cases effective
September 20, 2013, is revoked for cases filed on or after February 1, 2017, in the Western
District of Louisiana. Effective February 1, 2017 for cases filed on or after that date, the “No
Look” fee option in Chapter 13 cases shall be as follows:

1.

Counsel shall provide the following services to the Debtor(s) on a fixed fee basis:

A.

Provide counsel and advise the Debtor(s) on an as needed basis. This
includes, but is not limited to, the following: analysis of the Debtor(s)’
financial situation, routine phone calls and questions, and rendering advice
to the debtor in determining whether and under which chapter to file a
petition in bankruptcy.

Prepare and file a proposed Chapter 13 plan and any required amendments
to the plan.

Assist the Debtor(s) in preparing and filing the documents required by 11
U.S.C. § 521 and any required amendments, as well as preparation and
filing of required payroll orders, amended payroll orders and any
pleadings required to confirm the Chapter 13 plan.

Prepare and file miscellaneous motions required to protect the Debtor(s)’
interests in the case.

Prepare and file responses to motions filed against the Debtor(s), even if
the response is a statement that the relief is not opposed.

Attend the § 341 meeting of creditors and any adjournments thereof.

Attend the confirmation hearing and any adjournments thereof if required
under the circumstances, pursuant to court order, or pursuant to local rules.

Advise the Debtor(s) concerning their obligations and duties pursuant to
the Bankruptcy Code, Bankruptcy Rules, applicable court orders and the
provisions of their Chapter 13 plan.

Review claims and the notices of intention to pay claims.



Prepare, file and represent the Debtor(s) in their first post-confirmation
Motion to Lift Stay, Motion to Dismiss, or Motion to Modify filed more
than 120 days after confirmation.

Any actions required within 120 days after confirmation.

Represent the Debtor(s) regarding any services required after the
Debtor(s) make the final payment required under the Chapter 13 plan,
including the preparation and filing of any document, to assist the
Debtor(s) in obtaining a Chapter 13 discharge. There will be no additional
charge imposed for these services unless the services are extraordinary, in
which event counsel may apply for additional fees. Counsel may collect a
filing fee if reopening the case is required.

The “No Look” fee does not include the following services:

A.

Representation of the Debtor(s) in an adversary proceeding, either as a
plaintiff or a defendant.

Representation of the Debtor(s) in a contested matter, the subject of which
is extraordinary in the context of Chapter 13 cases in the United States
Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Louisiana.

Representation of the Debtor(s) in any matter in which the Court orders fee
shifting pursuant to which fees are to be paid by a person other than the
Debtor(s).

Except as set forth in paragraph 1 or paragraph 4, representation on matters
for which the first hearing is set more than 120 days following
confirmation.

The fixed “No Look” fee shall be as follows:

A.

$3,000.00 for the enumerated services. The presiding judge in each
division will address the payment of the “No Look” fee in cases dismissed
before confirmation.

Debtor’s counsel may receive an additional “No Look™ fee of $600 to be
paid during the last six plan payments of the Chapter 13 plan if the
confirmed plan contains such a provision, is feasibly funded to allow the
additional administrative expense, and only if:

(1)  the debtor is current on plan payments under the confirmed plan;

(2)  the debtor has timely filed with the relevant taxing authority all
federal and state tax returns that come due during the case, and has
timely provided copies of those returns to the trustee; and



(3)  the debtor has timely turned over all tax refunds pledged under the
confirmed plan unless use of those refunds was previously
approved by the court or Chapter 13 Trustee.

In cases where the monthly plan payments to the trustee are less than $300
per month, the presumptively reasonable fee will be reduced to 10-times
the monthly plan payment paid to the Chapter 13 trustee under the
confirmed plan.

To be applicable, the “No Look” fee must be elected in the first filed
Chapter 13 plan filed by counsel. Said election is irrevocable. “No look”
fees shall are compensable by the Chapter 13 Trustee without fee
application upon confirmation or upon dismissal pre-confirmation.

4. The following services will also be provided, if needed, on a fixed fee basis
subject to paragraph 1(K). Payment of these fees will be made through the confirmed plan:

A.

The “No Look” fee for motions filed more than 120 days following
confirmation and defenses to motions for relief and motions to dismiss that
are filed more than 120 days following confirmation shall be $350.00 if
resolved by agreement. When the resolution of a contested motion requires
a hearing during which evidence is adduced, the “no-look’ fee may be
increased to $500 or counsel may file a formal fee application.

The “No Look” fee for plan modifications filed more than 120 days
following confirmation shall be $450.00, plus the actual out-of-pocket
postage costs for service of the motion to modify the plan.

The “No Look” fee for objections to claims which are filed more than 120
days following confirmation. The fixed fee is $250.00.

Fee applications for post-confirmation “No Look” fees may be made ex
parte with service only to the Chapter 13 Trustee and the Debtor(s). No
itemization of work performed is required, but counsel should reference by
docket number any pleadings filed for which a “No Look” fee is requested.
“No Look” fee applications must be filed no later than 60 days after the
order on the motion or objection is entered, or 14 days after the date the
case is dismissed, whichever occurs first. However, in dismissed cases, if
all funds have been disbursed at the time that the fee application is filed,
the trustee is not required to comply with any fee order.

Any fee application other than “No Look” fee requests must be made by
formal fee application and be in conformity with the Bankruptcy Code and
Bankruptcy Rules and the Local Rules of Court Applicable to Bankruptcy
Proceedings in the United States District Court for the Western District of
Louisiana. »



3. Nothing in this Standing Order should be viewed as barring an objection by any
party in interest or the Court to a presumptive fee request.

6. The presiding judge of a division may enter additional standing orders governing

the award and payment of “No Look™ fees in the judge’s division, including the treatment and
payment of “No Look” fees in dismissed cases or where a case is converted to Chapter 7.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

THUS DONE AND SIGNED:

Robert R. Summerhays
Chief U.S. Bankruptcy Judge
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Jo . Kolwe Date '
U.S. Bankruptcy Judge




