You are here

Part V - Court Information


The United States Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Louisiana is presently divided into five (5) specific divisions. Those divisions and the parishes they consist of are as follows:

  1. Lafayette-Opelousas Division consisting of Acadia, Evangeline, Iberia, Lafayette, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, and Vermilion Parishes.
  2. Lake Charles Division consisting of Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, and Jefferson Davis Parishes.
  3. Shreveport Division consisting of Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Claiborne, DeSoto, Red River, Sabine, and Webster Parishes.
  4. Monroe Division consisting of Caldwell, East Carroll, West Carroll, Franklin, Jackson, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Richland, Tensas, and Union Parishes.
  5. Alexandria Division consisting of Avoyelles, Catahoula, Concordia, Grant, LaSalle, Natchitoches, Rapides, Vernon, and Winn Parishes.

Court is conducted in Shreveport, Monroe, Alexandria, Lafayette, and Lake Charles


The Clerk of Court for the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Louisiana presently maintains three (3) offices in the District. These offices are located in the Federal Courthouses located in Shreveport (300 Fannin Street),Lafayette (214 Jefferson Street, Suite 100), and Alexandria (300 Jackson Street), Louisiana. Cases arising in any division and all petitions and pleadings filed therein may be filed in any office of the Clerk of the Bankruptcy Court in the District.

The clerk of the United States Bankruptcy Court shall maintain the Administrative Procedures for Filing, Signing and Verifying Pleadings and Papers by Electronic Means and a current list of the service addresses for the agencies of the United States of America pursuant to the STANDING ORDER Re: Notice to and Service upon the United States of America which became effective October 30, 2009. The clerk of the United States Bankruptcy Court may issue a Guide to Practice which may be amended from time to time for the administration of that office. The Guide to Practice shall govern the administration of bankruptcy cases before the court unless they are found by the court to be inconsistent with the Local Bankruptcy Rules or with the Local District Court Rules or where the court determines in the interest of justice that the  Guide to Practice is inappropriate. A copy of the Guide to Practice shall be provided without charge to each member of the bar of this court upon request.


To improve the administration of justice in the federal courts, Congress passed the Judicial Conduct and Disability Act of 1980, codified at 28 U.S.C. § 372(c). The law authorizes complaints against United States circuit, district, bankruptcy, and magistrate judges who have  "engaged in conduct prejudicial to the effective and expeditious administration of the business of the courts" or who are "unable to discharge all the duties of office by reason of mental or physical disability." The conduct to which the law is addressed does not include making  wrong judicial decisions, for the law provides that a complaint may be dismissed if it is "directly related to the merits of a decision or procedural ruling." The Judicial Council of the Fifth Circuit has adopted Rules Governing Complaints of Judicial Misconduct or Disability. These rules  apply to judges of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit and to the district, bankruptcy, and magistrate judges of federal courts within the Fifth Circuit. The circuit includes the states of Texas, Louisiana, and Mississippi. These rules may be obtained from, and written  omplaints filed at, the following office:

U.S. Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit
F. Edward Hebert Building
600 Maestri Place
New Orleans, Louisiana 70130